Mind games: How psychological interactive games challenge you thinking PT1


When we were asked to play some interactive games, I thought nothing of the matter. I would never have imagined that playing these games would make me this uncomfortable. The first game I played was SPENT. This game was heartbreaking. It made me feel like a horrible imaginary pet owner and parent. I was living life as a cheapskate. I never picked an option that would bring my family and I joy. I felt awful, like I wanted it to end as soon as possible, but it made me feel incredibly humbled, and the only thought that I had walking from Thursday’s class to the next one was how this is the life of lots of people, and I couldn’t do it in a simulated game so imagine living it 

The second game I played was the Syrian refugee one.I instantly died on the italian shore. This game reminded me of a movie that I watched on Netflix called “swimmers” . I have heard about the process that these people go through and I can only imagine how hard it is to be a refugee.

The third game i played was the depression quest i am glad professor Maha put a trigger warning on this game as it’s very hard to be caught up in a depression cycle i know this because i am someone who is diagnosed with chronic depression among other diagnosis and it can be very hard to live life while you’re struggling and you can’t help but affect those around you negatively because you can’t be available all the time.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started